Website Manager

Viera Suntree Little League

Viera Suntree Little League

Sportsmanship Awards

Little League promotes a program called the Good Sport Award where each local little league nominates a single player from the league for the award.  Williamsport then selects the winner across all Little Leagues and gives the winner a free trip to the Little League World Series.

In 2005, VSLL implemented its own Sportsmanship program.  The program is limited to the kid pitch, Majors and Juniors divisions.  Near the end of the season, each team selects its own sportsmanship award winner.  From those winners, a division winner is selected.  From all of the division winners, a league-wide winner is selected.  The league-wide winner is submitted to Williamsport as our Good Sport Award nominee.

Prizes are awarded to all sportsmanship winners.

In 2008, VSLL's nominee for the Little League Good Sport Award was Kevin Trainor.  Kevin was selected by Little League to be the winner out of 2.7 million players across more than 7000 little leagues worldwide.  Kevin and his family won a trip to Williamsport for the Little League World Series.  Kevin was also honored in many ways closer to home, including a resolution by the Brevard County Board of Commissioners and an on-field recognition by the Florida Marlins.  VSLL's Sportsmanship Award now carries Kevin's name and is known as the Kevin Trainor Sportsmanship Award.

VSLL’s past Sportsmanship Award winners:

2005   Zach Schwarz
2006   Seth Grantham
2007   Mary Dawson
2008   Kevin Trainor  (won the Little League Good Sport Award)
2009   Nicole Abato
2010   Nick Bandos
2011   Kellie Bobango


Viera Suntree Little League
Registration Questions: Please contact Hester at [email protected] 

Email: [email protected]

Copyright © 2024 Viera Suntree Little League  |  Privacy Statement |  Terms Of Use |  License Agreement |  Children's Privacy Policy  Log In